# Proceedings of the 28th Annual Meeting of the Brazilian Embryo Technology Society (SBTE), August 14 to 17th, 2014, Natal, RN, Brazil.

From the scientific committee chair

Greetings and welcome to the 28th SBTE Annual Meeting! The Scientific Committee is very happy with this new challenge, which is follow up the excellent job done by the preceding Committee. Therefore, we maintained most of the program structure for this year. We invited world-class speakers to lecture about up-to-date information on embryo technology-related fields. The novelty for this year is shorter time for presentations on the concurrent sessions on basic (science) and applied (technology) topics, but more time for discussions. We will encourage the audience to participate and engage more on debates. The opening ceremony will have the traditional talk from the IETS President, plus some history of SBTE, but from the field (Veterinary) point of view. The main program will have three plenary sessions, and six sessions: The Oocyte, The Embryo, and The Uterus ("SBTE Science"), and The Donor, Emerging Technologies, and Health ("SBTE Technology"). For the plenary sessions, speakers were carefully picked to deliver contents of general interest to the society. In the other sessions, attendees will choose between two concurrent sessions, one focused on more basic aspects ("SBTE science") and the other emphasizing the more applied aspects ("SBTE technology") of that session's topic. For this year, we are innovating for the student's competitions that will be also separated (SBTE science and SBTE technology). Special emphasis must be directed to the pre-conference workshops. We will have five workshops, with novelties. 1. Artificial Insemination (with short talks and more time for discussions); 2. Small Ruminant Reproduction (with very exciting topics); 3. The Equine Workshop that was renewed to attract more of the horse reproduction community; 4. The In Vitro Fertilization Workshop, that will discuss several topics, including International Market and Embryo Import/Export; and 5. The 1st Workshop on Functional Genomics applied to Animal Reproduction. The SBTE wants to thank all members that sent their best work to be presented at this meeting. For the poster sessions, we are also changing a bit, having presentations divided within two days. Finally, SBTE wants to acknowledge the speakers, for putting a lot of effort on the preparation of excellent manuscripts and lectures to be delivered at this year's meeting. We also want to thank all the SBTE team and especially, the Scientific Committee and all the reviewers that worked tirelessly and enthusiastically 24/7. This list includes all folks from the SBTE administrative board, abstract session coordinators, abstract reviewers, manuscript reviewers and scientific editors. Once again, SBTE thanks the editor and staff at the Animal Reproduction journal and the Colégio Brasileiro de Reprodução Animal, for their collaborative spirit and instrumental help on putting together this year's meeting proceedings. We hope you find this volume informative and useful. See you in Natal!

## **Roberto Sartori, PhD**

Chairman of the SBTE Scientific Committee (2014-2015)

# Proceedings of the 28th Annual Meeting of the Brazilian Embryo Technology Society (SBTE), August 14 to 17th, 2014, Natal, RN, Brazil.

# SBTE Executive Board (2013-2015)

Margot Alves Nunes Dode (President) José Buratini Junior (Vice-president) Regivaldo Vieira de Sousa (1st Secretary) Bianca Damiani Marques Silva (2nd Secretary) Alexandre Rossetto Garcia (1st Treasurer) Maurício Machaim Franco (2nd Treasurer) Marcelo Fábio Gouveia Nogueira (Communications Director) Maurício Peixer (Business Director) José de Oliveira Carvalho (Information Technology Specialist) Osnir Yoshime Watanabe (Industry Liaison) Carlos Alberto Zanenga (Veterinary Practitioners Representative) Roberto Sartori (Scientific Committee Chair)

## **Proceedings General Editor**

Roberto Sartori

## **Scientific Editor**

Hugo Pereira Godinho

#### Workshop Chairs

Gustavo Férrer Carneiro Hymerson Costa Azevedo José Fernando Garcia José Luiz Moraes Vasconcelos Maurício Peixer Yeda Watanabe

#### **Awards Committee Chairs**

José Buratini Junior José Luiz Moraes Vasconcelos Mário Binelli Milo Charles Wiltbank Roberto Sartori

#### **Manuscript Reviewers**

Anneliese de Souza Traldi Fabíola Freitas de Paula Lopes Guilherme de Paula Nogueira Jo Leroy João Carlos Pinheiro Ferreira João Henrique Moreira Viana José Buratini Junior José Eduardo Portela Santos José Luiz Moraes Vasconcelos Marcel Amstalden Margot Alves Nunes Dode Maurício Machaim Franco Rafael Sisconeto Bisinotto Reuben J. Mapletoft Ricardo Chebel Roberto Sartori William W. Thatcher

# 5

## **Abstract Session Coordinators**

Alexandre Henryli de Souza Eneiva Carla Carvalho Celeghini Felipe Perecin Fernanda da Cruz Landim José Buratini Jr. Manoel Francisco de Sá Filho Marcelo Marcondes Seneda Paula de Carvalho Papa

## **Abstract Reviewers**

Alexandre Floriani Ramos Alexandre Henryli de Souza André Furugen Cesar De Andrade Anibal Ballarotti do Nascimento Anthony Cesar Souza Castilho Antônio Chaves de Assis Neto Bernardo Gasperin Bruna de Vita Carlos Antônio Carvalho Fernandes Cezinande Meira Christina Ramires Ferreira Claudia Barbosa Fernandes Claudia Lima Verde Leal Danila Barreiro Campos Edson Guimarães Lo Turco Eneiva Carla Carvalho Celeghini Ester Caixeta Evelyn Rabelo Andrade Fabiana Bressan Fabiana de Andrade Melo Sterza Fábio Lima Felipe Perecin Felipe Zandonadi Fernanda Landin Alvarenga Flávia Lombardi Lopes Gabriel Bó Gisele Zoccal Mingoti Gláucio Lopes Guilherme de Medeiros Bastos Guilherme de Paula Nogueira **Guilherme Pugliesi** Gustavo Martins Gomes dos Santos Henderson Ayres Hymerson Costa Azevedo Ian Martin Inês Cristina Giometti José Antonio Dell'aqua Jr. José Buratini Jr. José Nélio S. Sales José Ricardo Figueiredo João Carlos Pinheiro Ferreira João Henrique Moreira Viana Juliano Coelho da Silveira

Katia Cristina Silva-Santos Klibs N. Galvão Leandro Maia Letícia Zoccolaro Oliveira Ligia Pegoraro Lindsay Unno Gimenes Liza Margareth Medeiros de Carvalho Sousa Luciano Andrade Silva Luiz Sérgio Almeida Camargo Manoel Francisco de Sá Filho Marcelo Bertolini Marcelo Fábio Gouveia Nogueira Marcelo Marcondes Seneda Marcos R. Chiaratti Marcílio Nichi Maria Denise Lopes Mateus Sudano Mayra Elena Ortiz D'Avila Assumpção Mário Binelli Naiara Zoccal Saraiva Nelcio Antonio Tonizza de Carvalho Paula de Carvalho Papa Paulo Carvalho Rafael Augusto Satrapa Rafael Bisinotto Renata Simões Reno Roldi de Araújo Ricarda Maria dos Santos Ricardo Pimenta Bertolla Roberta Machado Ferreira Roberto Sartori Rodrigo de Andrade Ferrazza Rogério Ferreira Ronaldo Luis Aoki Cerri Rubens Paes de Arruda Rui Machado Sony Dimas Bicudo Thales Ricardo Rigo Barreiros Ticiano Guimarães Leite Vanda Santos Wanessa Blaschi Wilma de Grava Kempinas



# Staff

Alexandre Barbieri Prata Anaclady Aguiar Anibal Ballarotti Nascimento Camila Spies Jéssica Nora Drum José de Oliveira Carvalho Neto Leonardo de França e Melo Ligiane Leme Louise Helen de Oliveira Monique Mendes Guardieiro Pedro Leopoldo Jerônimo Monteiro Jr

## **Sponsors**

Coordenação de Aperfeiçoamento de Pessoa do Nível Superior (CAPES) Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico (CNPq) Ministério da Agricultura, Pecuária e Abastecimento (MAPA)



